Journal History

Administrative Culture, published by Ragnar Nurkse Department of Innovation and Governance at Tallinn University of Technology, is by now the oldest international public administration journal in the Baltics and the only one in Estonia.  It publishes general Public Administration pieces and - although focused on North-East region of Europe - is not limited to local or regional topics, and it allows for essayistic and heterodox approaches to our field.

Founded in 1999, it was completely transformed by then-Editor-in-Chief Rainer Kattel into a fully-refereed, multi-language interdisciplinary journal of administrative studies in 2005. At that time, it was made fully available on the Web in the pdf format, as well as changed the physical appearance hardcopy, with the help of some good Estonian designers, to what can be seen as a truly beautiful, high-quality item.

Since then, the journal has published quite some interesting and much referred-to articles and has entered several citation indices and abstract collections, including SCOPUS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, EBSCO Public Administration Abstracts and PA@BABEL. For highlihgts, see only 2007 special issue on Aesthetics of Government, 2010 special issue on Small States or 2011 issue on Law&Economics. It has also engaged internationally recognized scholars to discuss current key issues of administrative studies, see e.g. Lane vs Gaebler/Osborne debate in 2006, Robert H. Wade in 2008 or Geert Bouckaert in 2009 issue. By 2011, Drechsler's article on Weberian Public Administration in 2005 issue has become the most cited article among the Central and Eastern European PA journals (data: Harzing's Publish or Perish).

The journal is connected to the School's annual scientific conference of the same name, taking place in late April in Tallinn, but will only publish selected papers from this conference which likewise must undergo peer review.

After another half decade - in 2009 - the editors decided once again change the governance structure of the journal, forging ahead with its development while remaining solidly based on the highest scientific level. This included moving from a yearly to a biannual publication and appointing a new Editorial Board as well as Advisory Board. The journal now has a group of four editors, half from the Department and half from outside - Wolfgang Drechsler (Editor-in-Chief) and Tiina Randma-Liiv from Tallinn, Eugenie Samier from Canada and Marleen Brans from Belgium. Veiko Lember from Tallinn was appointed as a Managing Editor. The new international Advisory Board consists of eminent scholars of the field of Public Administration and has the usual task of offering, as the name says, advice on strategic decisions, possible reviewers, and other matters concerning the development of the journal. Currently the Advisory Board includes:

  • Pertti Ahonen, University of Helsinki
  • Jörg Bogumil, Ruhr-University Bochum
  • Geert Bouckaert, Catholic University of Leuven
  • Fenwick W. English, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Agustin Ferraro, University of Salamanca
  • György Jenei, Corvinus University of Budapest
  • Christoph Knill, University of Konstanz
  • Vitalis Nakrošis, University of Vilnius
  • Edoardo Ongaro, The Open University, UK
  • B. Guy Peters, University of Pittsburgh
  • Martin Potůček, Charles University in Prague
  • Isabella Proeller, University of Potsdam
  • Harald Saetren, University of Bergen
  • Markku Temmes, University of Helsinki
  • Baldur Thorhallsson, University of Iceland
  • Frédéric Varone, University of Geneva
  • Mirko Vintar, University of Ljubljana

In 2014 Veiko Lember joined the Editorial Board of the journal and Andreas Sepp took over the role as Managing Editor. In 2015 Rauno Mäekivi took over the role as Managing Editor.

ISSN: 1736-6089